Skip to content

If you give a mouse a cookie, he will shoot you in the #%*;^!$@ face!

April 23, 2010

I like to think I’m a pretty middle-of-the-road guy on a lot of things. I don’t let my passions get a hold of me too often, and I try to remain fairly mellow. The same can be said for my parenting style. Everything in moderation, even moderation.

I liked guns growing up. Not real guns, of course, but I loved toy guns. Squirt guns, GI Joe guns, whatever. If it had a trigger and didn’t actually shoot bullets, I probably shot it at some point. I joined the Marine Corps after college, and while it wasn’t just for the M16A2, it certainly didn’t hurt.

However, my father was a police officer, and I was always taught how dangerous guns really were. I asked my brother once recently if he ever touched my father’s gun without permission. His answer was an aghast “No! Of course not.” Another afterschool special ruined.

So I’m not opposed to my boys playing with toy guns, in principle. But realistically? I wish he was at least able to comprehend what guns were before he started shooting me with them.

Dr. James Dobson, author of “Bringing Up Boys,” said, and I paraphrase, that it doesn’t matter how secluded you keep your boys, how little you let them watch violence. At some point, you will give him a peanut butter and jelly sandwich, and he will bite it into the shape of a pistol and try to shoot you with it.

2.0 doesn’t even own guns, but there’s only one shape he’s been building his LEGOs in lately. When he was being punished by having toys taken away, he took hangers from his closet and made them into “hanger blasters.”

It’s my own fault, in the end. I have Star Wars DVDs in my entertainment center and Marvel comics on the bookshelf. Practice what you preach, I guess. Maybe when he understands what guns actually do, he’ll see them in a different view. But then again, that’s a conversation I’m dreading even more.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Scott permalink

    Top secret spy photo of 2.0>>>

    http://tinyurl.com/2fwf5cf

Leave a Reply

