Skip to content

Morning? But we were still saying goodnight!

July 6, 2010

627 has long had a specific bedtime ritual. He heads up the stairs, brushes his teeth and gets into bed. He then gives me, in order, a kiss, a hug, and a bonk (a usually gentle headbutt), then a wave goodnight.

But over the last week or so, he’s doubled the number of steps. It’s gotten to the point that it’s the toddler equivalent of a complex jive handshake.

"Excuse me, stewardess, I speak 627."

Following the bonk, I then get a pat on the head, a poke in the eye, a honk of the nose, a fishhook, and then the wave goodbye.

At what point am I just going to cut this kid off? Both because of the time constraint, and for my own safety? It’s not what 2.0 used to do, which was find any excuse to keep me in the room so he could stay up a few minutes later; it’s genuinely affectionate. But he’s going to keep adding to it, and he’s started to repeat steps. I don’t think I can handle repeated Blade Runner-esque pokings in the eyes.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. my younger one prolongs bedtime. this week, my husband would put him to bed and then he’d request my presence in order to “finalize” things.
    i love the “airplane” reference!

Leave a Reply

