Skip to content

The First Rule of Preschool Fight Club…

November 16, 2010

First off, an apology. It’s been a while since I wrote something here, so for all six of you who read this blog, I’ sorry. I’ll try to do better.

There’s a new development among the boys that is both amusing and terrifying. They have decided it’s fun to fight. Not argue, not compete, but fight. Slapping, body slamming, clawing, pinching, head-butting. The other night, 2.0 had more welts on his chest than a pro wrestler, and I think Experiment 627 is starting to develop cauliflower ear.

My own brother and I are five years apart, and we never fought like this. We’d have an occasional altercation, but it wouldn’t last for more than a punch to the arm, a toss into a wall, or a shovel to the head (the shovel was an accident, not an actual assault by my brother, but it still doesn’t change the fact that I can’t remember the entire month of January, 1996).

My own kids are just over two years apart, and with my little one continuing to be a voracious eater, they’re not far apart in weight. 2.0 has a reach advantage, but when everyone’s jumping around on the couch, that doesn’t count for much.

I’m actually a bit glad, in a way. 2.0 has been, to this point, a bit wimpy. I’m certainly not the kind of parent to encourage fighting, and I’ve never really been a particularly tough guy, but there’s something to be said for sucking up a bit of pain. But when I gave the ultimatum “If either of you makes the other one cry, you’re both going to bed,” they continued to fight and laugh about it.

On a side note, my father, who had spent more than three decades as a Chicago police officer, retired last month. I have never known him, professionally, as anything other than a police officer. To see him as a man of leisure is slightly disconcerting, but well-deserved. Imagine this: in all his time working, he never took a sick day. He’d had medical leave for injuries, but not once did he wake up and think “I don’t want to go to work today, I’ll make something up.” That’s a love for a job and a work ethic that I find remarkable.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Geoff A. permalink

    Wow, congrats to your dad. He did a job for decades that I couldn’t do for a year. And no sick days?! Now that is old school dedication and determination. It’s good to hear from you Joe. Next month is the big one for Yvette and I. It came so quickly…

Leave a Reply

